Photo by Lynn Segarra
Photo by Lynn Segarra

press to zoom
Town of Esopus Library
Town of Esopus Library

press to zoom
Visiting Bird
Visiting Bird

press to zoom

Mission Statement
The Town of Esopus Library, through a team of friendly, knowledgeable, and well-trained Staff, Volunteers, Friends, and Trustees, is dedicated to providing people of all ages with innovative lifelong learning and leisure opportunities through information, education, technology, and entertainment. Adopted by the Board of Trustees: October 25, 2006

Vision Statement
The Town of Esopus Library strives to reflect and enrich community life in the Town of Esopus and the surrounding areas.  As a focal point, the Library works in partnership with its patrons, community groups, and the Mid-Hudson Library System to stay in the forefront of local needs and trends.  Library programs and facilities are designed to complement the unique characteristics of the Town of Esopus. Adopted by the Board of Trustees: October 25, 2006

Friends of the Esopus Library
The Friends of the Esopus Library is a group of dedicated volunteers that work to promote community awareness of the Library and its programs, provide additional financial support, promote special events/programs, and encourage volunteer participation at the Library.

Town of Esopus Library Foundation
The Town of Esopus Library Foundation was created as a result of the generosity of Mr. Donald W. Taylor in memory of his mother, Bessie Houghtaling Taylor.  The Foundation works to provide a continual financial source for the benefit of the Library, as well as promote its works and causes.

Please note: The library will be closed in observance of the following holidays in 2022

January 17  -  Martin Luther King Jr. Day

February 21  -  Presidents' Day

May 30  -  Memorial Day

June 20  -  Juneteenth

July 4  -  Independence Day

September 5  -  Labor Day

October 10  -  Indigenous Peoples' Day/Columbus Day

November 11  -  Veteran's Day

November 24 & 25  -  Thanksgiving

December 26  -  Christmas

Library Staff

Brooke Dittmar - Director

Ben Gocker - Assistant Director

Deborah McMenemy - Office Clerk

Shannon Powell - Children's Program Coordinator

Barbara Wurtz - Clerk

Board of Trustees

Don Carragher  - President   

Nancy Beranek - Vice President

Reggie Heffernan -  Treasurer

Susan Barbarisi

Shannon Harris

Darlene Halstead

Laura Lauria

Susan Leiching

Elaine Rylance

Citizen Participants
Mary Redmond



Board of Trustees Meeting: 4th Tuesday of the month at 6:00 pm, Jim Fitzmorris, Chair.

Buildings and Grounds Committee: 2nd Monday of the month at 4:00 pm, Jim Fitzmorris, Chair

Governance & Personnel Committee: 2nd Tuesday of the month at 4:00 pm, Susan Leiching, Chair 

Sustainability, Research and Development Committee: 2nd Wednesday of the month at 4:00 pm, Don Carragher, Chair

Finance Committee: 2nd Thursday of the month at 4:00 pm, Susan Leiching and Reggie Heffernan, Co-Chairs


Mailing & Delivery Address

P.O. Box 1167

128 Canal Street

Port Ewen, NY 12466

Phone & Fax

Phone: 845-338-5580

Fax: 845-338-5583


Library Location